Feinstein Institute and Molecular Medicine Award Ross Prize to Researcher Dr. Charles N. Serhan

Ross Prize Awarded to Dr. Charles N. Serhan Ross Prize Awarded to Dr. Charles N. Serhan MANHASSET, NY – The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research today announced that Charles N. Serhan, PhD, DSc, director of the Center for Experimental Therapeutics and Reperfusion Injury at Brigham and Women's Hospital, the Simon Gelman Professor of Anaesthesia at Harvard Medical School and professor at Harvard School of Dental Medicine, is the recipient of the fourth annual Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine.

The Ross Prize is awarded through the Feinstein Institute Press's peer-reviewed, open-access journal, Molecular Medicine. The Prize, which includes a $50,000 gift, will be formally presented to Dr. Serhan on June 13 at the New York Academy of Sciences in Manhattan, followed by lectures from Dr. Serhan and other preeminent researchers. The Ross Prize is made possible by the generosity of Feinstein Institute board members Robin and Jack Ross. It is awarded annually by Molecular Medicine to scientists who have made a demonstrable impact in the understanding of human diseases pathogenesis and/or treatment, and who hold significant promise for making even greater contributions to the general field of molecular medicine.

'Charles Serhan's multidisciplinary approach to science enabled his discovery of resolvins,' said Feinstein Institute President & CEO Kevin J. Tracey, MD, who also serves as editor emeritus of Molecular Medicine. 'These molecular mechanisms hold promise for developing novel approaches to treating inflammation.'

'The Ross Prize is a wonderful recognition of our relatively new field of research focused on harnessing the body's own mechanisms to resolve inflammation,' said Dr. Serhan. 'I am honored and look forward to this exciting symposium and celebration.'

After the June 13th award presentation at the New York Academy of Sciences, Dr. Serhan will discuss his discoveries in the resolution of inflammation. Additional speakers will be announced in the coming weeks. To learn more and to register to attend the Ross Prize celebration and symposium, please visit www.nyas.org/RossPrize2016.

Dr. Serhan's research focuses on structural elucidation of bioactive molecules that activate the resolution of acute inflammation. His laboratory's mission is to identify novel mediators, pathways, and cellular targets critical in promoting resolution of inflammation and reperfusion tissue injury and their relation to human disease.

For the Ross Prize, Dr. Serhan was selected by an awards committee comprised of Dr. Tracey and Christopher J. Czura, PhD, vice president, scientific affairs, Feinstein Institute, and publisher, Molecular Medicine; Betty Diamond, MD, head, Center for Autoimmune Diseases and Musculoskeletal Disorders, Feinstein Institute, and editor-in-chief, Molecular Medicine; Peter K. Gregersen, MD, head, Laboratory of Genomics and Human Genetics, Feinstein Institute, and contributing editor, Molecular Medicine; Klas Kärre, MD, PhD, professor of molecular immunology, Karolinska Institute; and Lars Klareskog, MD, PhD, senior professor in the Department of Medicine, Karolinska Institutet.

Past recipients of the Ross Prize are Lewis C. Cantley, PhD, the Meyer Director of the Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center at Weill Cornell Medical College and NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital; John J. O'Shea, MD, scientific director at the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS); and Dan R. Littman, MD, PhD, the Helen L. and Martin S. Kimmel Professor of Molecular Immunology in the Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine at New York University School of Medicine.